Skip to content

Choose One: Ego or Success

02 Feb 2010

I just read a great article on losing the ego to gain entrepreneurial success.  And it got me thinking of some of the lessons I have learned along the way. I think the single most important lesson for me to learn was that there are many good people that I associate with that are definitely smarter than I am and they do have the desire to see me be successful.  Maybe for some this is a no-brainer, but one of my strong characteristics is stubbornness (unfortunately).

There is a lot of benefits to leveraging the strength of others to help you reach your goals.

One of the hardest things for me was to delegate tasks that I ‘felt’ were important.  Once I started to delegate I learned two things.  First, when I delegated an important task it positively changed the motivation of the employee and they became more closely related to the goal.  And Second, when something failed they had ownership in the failure and felt more compelled to finding the solution, and this really helped to generate some fantastic ideas.

I think one of the biggest fears I had was the diminished feeling of success.  I felt asking for help was a sign of my weakness and a sure-fire way to losing control of all my ideas.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  In fact, not utilizing others is a sign of weakness and insecurity.

Although the article is slanted to entrepreneurship, the idea of dropping the ego and listening to others is definitely helpful to be successful in all areas of life.  The “my way or the highway approach” does not work very smoothly in a marriage for instance, and so on.

A copy of the article referred to can be found here.

Enhanced by Zemanta

From → Work Related

2 Comments
  1. I was actually reading the book by John Maxwell, “Winning With People” the 8th chapter osunds a lot like this blog. You would probably enjoy that book a lot, tons of good advice on leadership there if you haven’t already read it :-).

    • I’ll have to check that book out. Thanks for reading my blog. I really enjoy reading through yours!

Leave a Reply

