Skip to content

A Simple Act of Kindness.

28 Dec 2011

This morning I went to Dutch Bros on 4th & Harrison in Corvallis.  I ordered a large 911 for me and a not-so-hot chocolate for the lil guy, the Barista told me the charge was $1.75.  He said, “the car in front of you paid for your drink.”

What?!?  That is so cool.  And I have to admit it’s nice being the recipient of a random act of kindness.

I was paying with a debit card, and thought putting $1.75 on the card would be strange, so I decided to up the anti and paid for a few more drinks for the cars behind me…à la Pay it Forward (or in this case backward).

What was really cool is how it just changed my day for the better.  It wasn’t going bad at all anyway, but I think my smile got a little more brighter and it was fun explaining to the lil guy what just occured.

So to whomever paid for my drink this morning, THANK YOU!

Have you ever had someone just randomly pay for something you were purchasing?  How did it make you feel?  Or, have you been the one randomly picking up a stranger’s tab?  Share in the comment section below:

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I’ve been in the car with my mom when this has happened and it honestly made my entire day. To see someone that knows nothing about you other than the color and make of your car, do something like that brightened my day already good day. Instances like these prove to me that regardless of what many people say, humans are not inherently evil. In my opinion, selflessness is the epitome of what kindness is all about.

    • Good point Dom, the good just takes a little prodding at times.

Leave a Reply

