Skip to content

More than a book.

16 Jan 2012

20120116-110254.jpg

A lot of time has passed since my dad left a book for me to read. He thought I would enjoy it and set it with some other books in my downstairs hallway.

The book just sat there. I really didn’t have any interest in reading the book. The book was written by an author I was unfamiliar with, was lengthy and I was sure the story would not be very interesting…even though I never even read the jacket cover to find out what it was about.

I never thought about moving it. I would notice it and just as quickly disregard it. I was certain the book was of no interest to me.

Last week I finally picked it up and started reading it. I found it hard to put it down. The book was really good.

It’s strange that the book I assumed would not interest me, consumed me.

It makes me think of other times that someone has left me something, for my benefit, that I completely ignored. Whether that ‘something’ was a book or an idea or an observation, I’m sure there have been many that would have had a positive effect if I had just taken the time to trust.

There are so many people who are willing to help out with the journey, but it is so easy to pretend I’ve already arrived. I know it was just a book that sat around for long time, but it is amazing how something so trivial can provide such insight to me.

It’s with others that life is truly lived, and the journey without them would be just wandering. I do appreciate the insight.

One Comment
  1. Mike permalink

    What book is that?

Leave a Reply

